.

Will You Let Your Kids See 'Bully?'

The documentary, which opens locally tomorrow, successfully fought for a PG-13, rather than an R rating.

"Bully," a documentary about teen bullying in America looked at through five families, will open Friday at two theaters in San Francisco, and, after a protracted fight with the Motion Picture Assn. of America, it will sport a PG-13 rating.

The MPAA originally slapped an R-rating on the movie for profanity, which would have shut out teenagers, a major part of the film's intended audience. The Weinstein Co. threatened to release the film without a rating if the MPAA wouldn't alter its stance.

The MPAA was widely criticized for being intractable, and a petition on Change.org for a lower rating garnered 500,000 signatures, according to ABC News.

In the end, producers agreed to removed three utterances of the "F-word" in exchange for the lower rating. Still, the subject matter will no doubt make for a raw and emotional film.

Schools in South San Francisco have been taking on bullying through and , and the district passed an anti-bullying policy in March.

Will you let your child see this film with its PG-13 rating? Let us know by voting in the poll below and leaving a comment.

If you're interested in seeing "Bully," click here for showtimes.

Jamie White April 12, 2012 at 09:14 PM
I think this is a HUGE issue and if my son was old enough, I would definitely take him to see this movie.
Cris April 13, 2012 at 12:49 AM
Heck, I would have let my 13 year old see it if it were rated R. I would want to go with him anyway. It is not like he does hear the f-word dozens of times a day in middles school.
Cris April 13, 2012 at 01:38 AM
* meant to say "doesn't" and "middle school" Sorry...Must have typed too quickly...
Tess April 13, 2012 at 02:16 AM
I would go with him to see the movie not just let him go on his own as if the movie was just for "entertainment". Then again, don't know too many teenagers who would want to go anywhere with their parents -- so... Hope the movie is made availabe in DVD soon so both parents and schools are able to show the movie and can follow up with discussion about it.
Erin Macias April 13, 2012 at 04:58 PM
I look forward to the release for home and school viewing too. While I don't want my children hearing or using profanity, they hear more of it in the peer setting, on tv and on the internet than most parents realize. Did you know that bullying peaks in Grade 7 and generally begins in 2nd grade? Hopefully, they'll create a version for the younger audience too.
Barbara Remley April 13, 2012 at 06:16 PM
I am taking my 13 year old today along with a few of my girl scout. There was defiately caution by parents. Three of my girl scouts are not attending due to the nature of the film -- they are also from private schools/home school, so they don't feel as effected by the problem. But my daughter was so effected last year, she waas depressed and talking about dying rather than living through another day. And the school was in such denial! I was shocked at how lightly they took the problem. I pulled her out and tell everyone I know not to send their kids at that particular elementary school.
laura walsh April 13, 2012 at 06:29 PM
I am taking both of my kids and would have taken both my 10 and 12 year olds even with the R rating. Every child should see it since bullying is on the rise
Drew Himmelstein (Editor) April 13, 2012 at 07:02 PM
That's interesting that parents are cautious about the film—like several commenters have already pointed out, my guess is that most kids are exposed to profanity and bullying in real life anyway, even if they haven't been victims. One of the criticisms of the MPAA was that it seems to have no problem giving violent movies lower ratings—"The Hunger Games" is rated PG-13—but they come down hard on profanity. I'm sorry about your daughter's experience, and I hope that seeing she's not alone will help. I know the producers are trying to get this film into schools to use it for education purposes.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something